What happens if I change the permissions on a file stored in a cloud storage service?
Change platform:Computer Help
If you change the permission of the file from private/accessible to some to public to everyone at your company:
Since the file wasn't public to everyone when you originally made the post, people will only see the icon of the file type and they'll be prompted to confirm they have permission to view the file. Only people who have permission will then be able to see the preview and access the file. If you change the permission to public, nothing will change in the preview, but everyone will be able to access the file.
If you change the permission of the file from public so that everyone at your company can access the file, to private/accessible by some:
Since the file is public to everyone at the time the post is made, everyone will see a preview and/or title. If you change the permission to private/accessible by some, previews that show images remain the same since they were captured at the moment you first made the post. However, only people who have permission will be able to access the file when they click on the link. Users may be prompted to log in to the cloud services provider.